I’ve been working out 3 times a week on the advice of my psychiatrist. Once a week, I swim, and twice a week, I bust my ass on these awesome virtual-reality exercise bikes. So, naturally, I’m always looking for good workout music. And The Gossip’s new album, Music For Men, is definitely one of those albums.

Here’s the lead single off the album:

I’m going to be one of those people and say that I liked the Gossip before they were cool. At least in North America. I remember dashing out to buy Standing in the Way of Control, their 2006 album, in grade 9, before anyone I knew knew who they were. Yeah, I’m being one of those music snobs.

Their stuff really has this amazing raw energy behind it. And Beth Ditto is amazing. Whenever I want queer indie rock that you can dance to, and that makes no apologies, I listen to the Gossip.

